Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Not BadDecember 28, 2010
by Jess from San Diego, Ca
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Listen guys I love this unit. I only bad thing I noticed is the the connections are very limited but overall you can't beat the price for what this tv has to offer. I'm a gamer and a film buff. I give this item a 4 1/2 star overall rating.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
big...nice...and crystal clear image...December 28, 2010
by alfie from quebec ,canada
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
the quality of the screen is amazing im very surprise, best deal for the price sound is good ,i turn regza link of (i read some review before ) and i have non problem to turn it off and is stay off lollll
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great TVMarch 23, 2011
by Potentate from Boonton, NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is my third Toshiba, all currently in service. Great picture, great color, ok sound, remote works fine, great price, it doesn't turn itself back on (REGZA turned off), the base is not flimsy. In short - I have experienced none of the negatives of some of the reviews, and all of the positives. The price I paid ($999) being half the cost of the 42 inch Toshiba Regza of a few years ago. Blacks are black, motion is great. What more can you ask of a TV? Why pay 50% more for some developing LED technology when the Toshiba LCD is already excellent.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
lcd tvMay 29, 2011
by jonny.2309 from west orange nj
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
nice tv I clear the color and game in this tv is fantastic
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
My Toshiba 55HT1U is Excellent.January 27, 2012
by Robert2078 from Houston, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought my TV about a year ago. I haven't had any problems with it at all. It's been great. Beautiful picture. Love the matte finish on the screen (No light glare). I read some of the other reviews of peoples TV’s acting twitchy and/or failing all together. I think maybe some of the people failed to invest in a Surge Protector with protection up to 1500 Joules. Even better is a battery backup that streamlines the electric current and protects from fluctuations in frequency and surges. You would be amazed how quickly home electronics can fail from a lack of surge protection. I'm not saying that's the cause of everyone's issues, but I'm pretty sure it probably accounts for a lot of them.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
A Good BuyNovember 18, 2011
by Jazzie from Southern NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I purchases the TV, March '11, so far I really love it, for some reason no operators manual came with it & trying to get a copy of it online seems impossible.. But going through the menu & playing around with the settings I've figured out how to make the adjustments.(set on standard) Since at the moment I'm not hooked up for HD for another few weeks & I'm not into all the gaming gadgets there is no complaints... But I want to use it with my computer I really need the manual so that I do the right connections without messing the TV up... Overall I love the TV. looking to get a smaller one for another room.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
awsomeNovember 14, 2011
by dee from illinois
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
i read the reviews and i have to tell you it takes a little time to adjust the settings within a game system to match tv using hdmi cables is a must for xbox and ps3, i have wii, xbox,and ps3 and ps3 needed the most adjustments within ps3 system its self, the only thing i was just ok about was the sound from the tv is ok but in time ill have a surround system, but sounds are ok, i played a blu ray from ps3 and it was awsome, all in all i am happy with this tv, i was leaning to get 3d but i was really not thrilled to have classes on while viewing tv in my living room, blu ray is great enough, also i was not looking to have internet on my tv so i was happy with that, the less stuff on tv is best for me, i have one word for this tv AWSOME
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
awesome picture!!!January 10, 2011
by thistvrocks from new orleans, la
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
bought this tv 3 days ago and had HD hooked up 2 days ago, and i am amazed at the picture quality of this tv.. the blacks are really black, and the colors are so vivid, i feel i am right in the action.. i would recommend this tv to anyone and everyone. my only drawback is only 3 hdmi hookups.. but the tv is very user friendly and the 120 hz processing makes for a very smooth high def picture.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great ValueNovember 23, 2010
by HD Junkie from Cincinnati, Ohio
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a great tv with a great HD picture. The only draw back is that the speakers don't match the great picture on the tv. You see this explosive screen & expect explosive sound. It's not there. I bought surround sound (a soundbar w/ sub woofer)& now I truely have a viewing (& listening) experience! I really got a wonderful price on this TV-great value for the money.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
not a gaming tvOctober 22, 2011
by 4jfarmer from ar
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
love the tv itself for watching tv but my son and i like to play xbox 360. Hooked it up to the tv and the controler lag is so terrible it is not fun trying to play games on it. For watcing tv pic is excelent but the sound is lacking.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
recend on my earlier reviewOctober 23, 2011
by 4jfarmer from ar
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
i stated earlier that this is not a gamers tv. Well i was wrong. When i purchased my tv the owners manual was missing so ive been fumbling threw this as i discuver stuff out. My severe lag was my fault.IM such a bone head that i didnt have the gamer mode on. Now that its on it works excellent. The only thing that would improve he tv is a better sound.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good tvSeptember 15, 2011
by bradly from Trinidad
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Tv is nice but the location of the inpt jacks was a terrible one .At the side or bottom of the back panel would have been a much better option . Ny hands cannot fit behind there. Otherwise the tv is fine
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great Picture Bad SoundMarch 16, 2011
by Brand 2 from Santa Rosa Ca
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I've had this TV less then a week now. I'm pretty much satisfied with this unit, however for a TV of this size, the sound could be better. Speakers don't seem fit for this TV
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
55ht1u turns on after couple of minutesFebruary 26, 2011
by shnae
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
this tv has a great picture for the price have had it for about a week and just had hd installed today but when i left i know i turned off tv and when i got home the screen was on and not hd reciver hmm so i turned it off and sure as heck it turned back on the screen in a couple of minutes. tried turning off rgaza and still does it. hmmm hope theres a fix soon.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
NICE lcd tv!!July 20, 2011
by mich123
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
nice lcd and i got it 2 days ago love it!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Turn off the Regza linkDecember 17, 2010
by gman
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
In order to prevent the TV from randomly turning itself on, turn off the Regza link from the main menu. Temporary fix, untill a firmware update is made available.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
TV WONT STAY OFF!!!December 11, 2010
by BTRFLYGRL666 from ST. LOUIS, MO
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
TV IS GREAT IF IT TURNS OFF. WE POWER IT DOWN..3 MIN LATER ITS BACK ON! BURING OUT THE LIFE OF OUR TV AND RAISING OUR ELECTRIC BILL!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
DisappointedApril 10, 2011
by Pete from Monroe, Michigan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Poor review from me.......great picture.........lousy sound....so much white noise that it drowns out whoever is speaking on the TV.....no close caption available in HDMI and a real lack of options.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
good tv but keeps cutting onDecember 20, 2010
by rolltide1 from Phenix City, AL
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The tv worked fine and picture is good but after 10 days of use it cuts back on after cutting off the only way to cut it off and it stay off is to unplug it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Good valueFebruary 22, 2011
by Chim from LaPine,OR
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I bought this TV based on size and price. This is a great value. it's difficult to find a TV this large for this price. Great picture and natural color output but i see a bit of shaking with alot of screen movment and tearing in extream situations. Makes it a bit difficult to pay attention to what your watching when the picture is straining to keep up. Just the nature of the beast i suppose.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Good TV if you're luckyDecember 25, 2010
by Sebby from CT
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
TV Has very good picture quality, and speakers are good but maybe a tad soft. The main problem I had with this TV was that it would flash black randomly, so I returned it and got a new one, same model and had the same problem. Fortunately I can still return it but I wish I could've kept it. Also most LCD's come with 4 hdmi ports, this one only has three (not that we maxed it out anyway). Great value for price, and many people love it, but it couldn't work for us.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
my tv turns onMarch 30, 2011
by Flicka from Hatillo,PR
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Hi I have the problem since I bought my tv when I turn off lights sometimes do in 5 minutes or sometimes it takes an hour. I searched how to have it not happen to not find the solution and I got a little upset TV
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Frustration after frustrationSeptember 13, 2011
by Nate from Nashville, TN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
After reading reviews on many 55" HDTVs over several months, I finally bought the Toshiba 55HT1U because of low price. BAD idea. Although the picture is excellent, and the sound is fine, in the six months I have had it I have had problem after problem with it. First, like so many others, it sometimes turns itself back on. I never know when. Also MDMI slots 1 & 2 have been defective. But, the worst thing is that the tv has gone dead twice. Each time, Toshiba has had a repair man come out and replace the main board. The last repair was 5 days ago. Today, it has begun turning itself on again! I am now hoping to have Toshiba replace it. I will update that later. Bottom line: Do not buy this tv!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
TV looks great but won't turn offDecember 5, 2010
by Norm from Clovis, CA
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The TV has a very good image. Contrast ratio looks nice with deep blacks and decent whites. The sound is actually decent in compare to other units, and the price is just right for a 55" lcd. "But" after one week of having the TV, the unit will not turn off. Well actually it turns off, but about three minutes later it TURNS ON by itself. Woke me up in several times.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
TV turns on by itselfDecember 15, 2010
by Frustrated from Champaign, IL
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
This TV would be decent for the price if you could shut it off. As my fellow reviewers have mentioned. The TV TURNS ON BY ITSELF. It is infuriating.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
nu uhSeptember 15, 2011
by Perdean from Sptbg., SC
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Purchased back in Feb. Had a great pic then began to distort. Last time it distorted I unplugged it and waited a couple hours to plug it back in. Never came back on. Has been in the shop for 25 days now. Shop received the goahead to replace the board under the factory warranty but the part is on backorder. Today is Sep. 15. The shop ordered the board August 25 and it has been on backorder eversince. Fellow in Tennessee said his board had been replaced two times with the last being 5 days before his post on the 13th making it around Sep. 8th. ? 14 days after I was informed the part was on backorder.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Ours broke!October 10, 2011
by c2ys
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
5 months after we bought it the panel is gone it has been in the SHOP for over a month we are still waiting for the part. Customer Service is a joke they offered us a TV with less not more i will never buy another tv from this company.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DisappointedJanuary 16, 2012
by BW from Pittsburgh
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Bought this TV A little over a year ago. Didn't have any problems until yesterday. Screen Started flashing on and off. My wife Unplugged it, I turned it on when I got home , and NO PICTURE OR SOUND just an LED light on in the corner. I really thought I would make out with the price I got this TV, apparently I was wrong, This thing quit working Just after the warranty was up! JUNK !
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Nice picture, but...December 20, 2010
by Fred from Lincoln, CA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
..the supplied remote is ineffective at any distance more than 3 feet away from the TV. Cable remote -- same thing. Philips universal remote -- same thing. New batteries in all 3 of them. I don't sit 3 feet in front of the TV, so anytime I want to adjust volume or change the channel, I have to get up and walk over to the TV to do it. Why bother even providing a remote?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Love the TV, but....December 7, 2010
by BusyMom
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I love the TV... but WHY WON'T IT TURN OFF??????
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 55HT1U 55" Class 1080P LCD HD TV
Averages based on 34 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.4 out of 5
Features: 3.5 out of 5
Performance: 3.4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.1 out of 5
21 of 34 (61%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.