Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent Portable HDDJanuary 9, 2014
by Solidus J2K from USA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The USB cable is Short, but has excellent performance, response time is very good and is very resistant case
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
An Affordable Backup DriveJune 12, 2014
by nasava8787 from Pune, India
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Its a quality product. Pros :: 1. it's compact , nice and design is simple 2. On usb 2 you will get average copying speed of 25- 30 mb/s 3. On usb 3 you will get average copying speed of 30-70 mb/s 4. Swift Connectivity. 5. Good for storing data. Cons :: 1. Short USB Cable. 2. Isn't the best performer. 3. No Carrying case available in the market.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Cable too shortJanuary 13, 2014
by Upset from Meridian, MS
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Because the cable was so short the hard drive sat on the floor next to the desktop. Kids rolled over it with the chair and damaged the drive. Lost all my pics and files. Other than losing 7 years worth of pics, performance was good.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor USB CableJanuary 3, 2014
by Boots from Kingsland Tx
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The USB cable is short, very short. It will work fine with a laptop but not with a desktop PC with the USB 3 ports in the back of the computer case. The port on the Canvio is like I have never seen. Toshiba does not name the USB cable, only calls it a USB 3 - 2 cable. I have several USB 3 cables but none will work. This makes it very hard for me to buy a longer USB cable. They could have least given it a part number.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Wouldn't recommendSeptember 9, 2014
by Toshiba User from IN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have a Toshiba PC and thought a Toshiba external hard drive for back-ups would be perfect. I was wrong. I can't find my backed up files and I can't find any information anywhere as to how to access them. It is a useless product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
XBOX 360September 16, 2014
by jameslorence from minneapolis, KS
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This device is Not Compatible with Microsoft Xbox 360, unless you only want to be able to use 30 gigs of a Tb
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
horribleFebruary 3, 2014
by Adnan from Texas
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I usually am not picky about device performance anything that meets criteria is ok for me . I bought this drive almost a year ago copied all personal stuff from laptop to it. now when i try to move it back to new laptop it doesnt copy stuff in bulk it can copy file less than 1GB, anything above that & it hangs. tried on different work laptop same story. now i have only 200GB to transfer, but it seems painful to copy individual files. Really sorry that companies don't do any QAT on their product
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Doesnt work any moreFebruary 23, 2014
by Aaron
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Has been working for about a year with no problems until now im getting the clicking noise of death. My computer wont recognize the hard drive when I plug it in. Lost all my information on the drive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not Useful at AllMarch 17, 2014
by Nick from Boston, ma
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
As noted by others, cable is too short, but the biggest problem is it won't work with desk top computer USB ports so if you save something off a laptop you can't transfer it to a desktop. Absolutely worthless.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
1TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)
Averages based on 11 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.7 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
2 of 11 (18%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.