Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
wowzer DR430 DVD RECORDERNovember 29, 2010
by a44magmn from Phoenix AZ
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
EASY TO USE... does the job
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Value for DVD RecorderJanuary 27, 2011
by worp63 from Idaho
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Easy to use for simple recording. Have transfered my home videos from camera with ease using built in port! Use to watch movies and never a skip.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great DVD RECORDERJanuary 2, 2012
by Bikeman from Salinas ,CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
It a very nice recorder . It does everything I need it to.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Works AwesomeMay 31, 2012
by Taperjim from Essex Jct. Vermont
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Lots of bad reveiws but I love! To the Haters READ the instructions and FINALIZE THE DISC.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent valueSeptember 8, 2012
by hihoaudio from NYC, NY
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I replaced an expensive Panasonic DVD Recorder with this model and have no regrets whatsoever. The DR430 is easy to use and program, records all cable channels and has had no problems at all. Half the price of the Panasonic and picture quality is as good or even better. 100% satisfied.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good Replacement DVD RecorderFebruary 1, 2013
by Skip from San Antonio TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I Frankly don't understand why so many users had problems with this recorder. Recorders without a tuner cannot be used to record from TV but must be connected to another source (i.e. VCR). I had mine up and recording in under 20 minutes, and that included the time it took to format the disc. I use DVD+RW discs, which do not have to be finalized before playing on this machine or another player. So far, I've played back only one recording and it was fine. Of course, I have no way of knowing what the future holds, But, I am optimistic.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great DVD RecorderFebruary 21, 2013
by Film Jockey from Sacramento, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I purchased my DR430 in January 2012 to replace a dead Sony DVD recorder that I had owned since 2005. I had researched all of the available DVD recorders and settled on this one. Like others have said, it's important to understand the machine lacks a tuner. I mostly use the S-video input to record a signal from either my satellite receiver or my camcorder. Image quality surpasses my old Sony, and the Toshiba doesn't seem to be nearly as finicky when it comes to disc media. So far, reliability is very good. I'm a video professional, so my standards are a little higher than the average person; I'm very pleased!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Value!April 2, 2013
by JazzDad from South Central Texas
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I've owned one of these units for about 3 years now, and couldn't be happier with it. The learning curve wasn't bad and it records discs nicely. Due to the low price of this machine, it is my everyday DVD and CD player, as well. (I play the Blue Ray discs on my more costly machine.) I bought this brand because I was so pleased with my Toshiba LCD TV.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
excellent product; quick set upJanuary 8, 2014
by frosty65 from altoona, PA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I was initially worried when I read some reviews, but was later pleasantly surprised at how wrong those negative reviews were. It took me about 10 minutes to set the dvd recorder up and I was recording immediately. Picture quality is great. I'd recommend this product to anyone!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good value for the moneyApril 14, 2013
by Minuteman from Sturgis, MS
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have owned my DR430 for about a month now and have found it to be user friendly and good quality recorder for the money. I am very happy with my purchase.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great recorderFebruary 24, 2013
by Stumpy from Crossville TN
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this to record some shows and got a lot more then I expected . I have had this for the last four years and if any thing should happen to it You bet I will replace it with an other Toshiba !
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
DR430 Records UVerse from 1200 BoxFebruary 14, 2013
by TimeLord04 from Danville, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
My Panasonic DMR-ES20 died today with a U99 code. I could not find a Panasonic replacement unit. Found this Toshiba unit, compares nicely to the Panasonic DMR-ES20, and same price point even though years apart. Hooked up to UVerse 1200 Non-DVR box via RCA cables. Tested signal from DVR through 1200 box to DR430; perfect signal pickup. Recorded from DVR through 1200 box to DR430 with no problems. DO NOT connect this unit directly to a UVerse 1225, (or newer), DVR, the DVR will pump out a copy protection signal into the DVD Recorder. You MUST connect the DR430 to a 1200 Non-DVR secondary box elsewhere in your house and run DVR shows through the 1200 box then into the DR430 to record DVR programs. MOVIE CHANNELS ON UVERSE ARE ALWAYS COPY PROTECTED, they will NOT record... ALL lower channels, (and HD counterparts), record just fine through a 1200 box. I have no knowledge on the new AT&T Wireless boxes, though. This unit is AWESOME!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Toshiba DR 430 Video RecorderOctober 9, 2012
by JT from La Mirada, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Excellent for the price. Very reliable. I have three of them.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Know what to do before you complainSeptember 5, 2012
by Church Video Director from SC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This unit is so simple my 11 year old kids on our church youth video team operates them with ease. We have four. It does everything a recorder should, I never needed the manual, to simple.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good dvd recorderDecember 3, 2010
by raider ken from manteca, ca
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
solid dvd recorder. Wish it have a hdd, more recording features(ex. time, and picture) , but overall a good product for the price
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Capable recorderFebruary 14, 2012
by HiTech from Cincinnati, OH
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Records great from Directv box and VCR dubs at XP and SP. Picture degrades quickly on slower speeds
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great DVD RecorderJune 11, 2012
by mamawoof from Stockton, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Has to be hooked up correctly for it to record.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Documentation bad product goodNovember 25, 2012
by No longer confused
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Unit was easy to setup and worked great as long as you used unit to play, However, I could not figure out why it would not work on other devices until I found this page. Would be nice to have actual manual included But key is finalize. Also note unit will not work direct from standard TV.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Very easy set upOctober 13, 2012
by Bill from USA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I just got it today.It was very easy to hookup and the on screen setup was simple .One complaint is there is no manual. I hope there is one online .But I was able to figure it out very easily. Picture quaility is great
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
DVD RecorderSeptember 30, 2012
by middleoftheroad from San Jose, CA.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Several people wrote reviews that this unit does not record. THAT IS INCORRECT. This unit records just fine BUT THIS UNIT DOES NOT HAVE A BUILT-IN TUNER. That means that this recorder relys on the output functions of another product such as a TIVO or VCR or Digital Tuner converter box. When using these output sources to the input of the Toshiba the unit will perform just fine. I have several DVD recorders from different manufacturers so I can easily compare features and quality. This unit is a bit slow on finalizing and the titling features are awkward but usable. Video and audio quality is good. Recommend not recording slower then at 4 hour speed. The DVD recorder market is drying up. If you need one grab this one now.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good ProductAugust 9, 2012
by hkat from Ontario, Canada
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I bought this recorder at Christmas (8 months ago) to record some tv shows - and it works well. Operation can be a little complicated, must read and keep instruction manual. Took time to learn to use. Still, I would purchase the same unit if I could do it all over again. Worth the money.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
DVD recorded but won't play backNovember 18, 2012
by RosieRose from Pascagoula, MS
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Bought this for my church because our camera heads were bad. Thought an RCA output from the camera to this recorder would fix our camera issues. The DVD recorded from the camera or appears to have recorded but it will not play back. I keep reading about a tuner. Do I need an interface between the camera and DVD recorder? Is that what you all are saying?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Recording FeatureApril 12, 2012
by moe from michigan
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
This unit does not record directly from TV . It has not tuner built in. YOu pay extra for nothing. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS if you are planning to record directly from TV.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
problemsAugust 26, 2013
by Shtach from Iowa
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Bought recorder summer 2012. About 6 months later I noticed problems with the remote, I thought it was the batteries and replaced them, but it works on and off. I suspect something is wrong with receptor on the recorder itself. When it works, it records nicely.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not up to parMarch 6, 2013
by Dave F from Sun City, AZ
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought a new DR430 Recorder/Player. Was defective from the box. The S-Video IN would not accept video from Cable box. Would only work with a yellow Video RCA cord. The Unit has no HDMI input fo bring audio and video into the unit. Has HDMI OUT port only. It does have a HDMI OUT port to TV which seemed to work well.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't BuyDecember 28, 2010
by cachedog from Wolfeboro, NH
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Plays our DVD movies fine BUT I bought this unit to be able to record from the TV. The unit does not work. It may be recording but plays nothing back. This one is going back!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Does not playbackMarch 4, 2014
by Ed from Bedford, Canada
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I,m having the same problem as this one"Plays our DVD movies fine BUT I bought this unit to be able to record from the TV. The unit does not work. It may be recording but plays nothing back. This one is going back!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stopped loading DVDs after 5 monthsSeptember 23, 2013
by DVDgirl2076 from VA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I was completely satisfied with this unit until it stopped loading DVDs, instead receiving a "Disc Error" message. The user guide's Troubleshooting causes/solutions section did not fit my situation. Also, and very irritating, I cannot seem to find the correct phone number to call for support.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
save your$$September 19, 2013
by twis from camden nj
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Junk
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Loose sound after using pause keyJune 1, 2013
by k from b
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Unfortunately if you are editing out commercials as you record once you use the pause button once, the unit will no longer record sound.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Does not recordJune 19, 2011
by mike from phoenix, az
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
product will not record. it is unsuitable for mass distribution. it needs to go back to the lab.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
horrible productJuly 23, 2012
by bigdog from indiana
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I honestly would not recomend this product to the devil himself it is the most complicating electronic I have ever faced. Im about 6 hours into figuring out how to record and still havent figured it out.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Almost WorthlessDecember 26, 2012
by walterb-sfo from Chicago, IL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Will NOT record most programming from ATT Uverse box due to digital rights management. Might work with some cable boxes or digital to analog over the air converters. DVD-RW discs with CPRM seem non-existant.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DR430 Defective....TWICEApril 28, 2013
by JWEUSMC from Atlanta,GA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I've had two of these machines in the past month. Cannot get it to record any shows from my DVR. Alli get is the audio....no video. I have a nice store credit to use on this website, but honestly don't see anything on here that I would use. I hooked up both of the recorders in every way possible, but still no video, just audio...Frustrating to say the least.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Useless as a recorderMarch 24, 2013
by stosh from Glendora, CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
The unit plays commercial dvd's , but won't play back what it records. Screen goes black. Toshiba replaced the first unit, replacement does exactly the same thing. Since you can't talk to anyone at Toshiba anymore, is there anyone out there that has had any experience with this??
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
bummerFebruary 17, 2012
by unhappy from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
have had this unit 1 day, and i find (as others have) that it wont record anything from TV. this is my reason for wanting a recording unit.. how can i get my money back?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NO GOODDecember 7, 2011
by SAD from TEXAS
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
NO GOOD DOES NOT RECORD. BEEN THROUGH 1 PACKAGE OF DVD DISK .LOST THAT MONEY BUYING WHEN ITEM DOES NOT RECORD.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder
Averages based on 39 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.1 out of 5
Features: 3.3 out of 5
Performance: 3.1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3.4 out of 5
21 of 39 (53%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.